Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"and I think that I sometimes might have wished
for something more than to be a size six."

09 November 2005 - 5:07 pm

yooo-hoooo! remember me?

wow. i haven't done this diaryland thing in so very long.

but i'm in the library, and i'm supposed to be working on my book, and we all know how that goes . . . procrastination, procrastination. so i've emailed and looked up the poetry reading i have to attend on friday, and glanced at the news (suck this, governator! whaahaahaa you and your stupid props that didn't pass); and with not much else to do besides real work, i suddenly became very afraid that my dear old diary might be gone from non-use, thus losing me three well chronicled years of my life. and what could be more interesting than my life? exactly. that's why i've been keeping volumous records of it.

so. yeah. i live in california now. the cooking magazine, the boston . . . it's all so long gone. for more than a year now. i like it here. some days seems stressful, and i do spend a lot of time in traffic. there is nothing like walden pond and the leaves don't really turn. baseball is just baseball and not the wonderfulness of the Red Sox. shopping isn't fun anymore b/c it's too big of a pain to get to any stores (see: traffic), and i don't have a good bookstore. all of which is good since i also don't have a full time job or any money. and of course, i miss the people back east always.

but it is good here, and i am happy. i love the hills in my part of town, how they rumble and rise, decked out in their palm trees, their fuschia flowers, and their craftman style houses. i love that i have two orange trees in my yard and can see the observatory in griffith park from my kitchen and front door. i've met so many great people. really, i didn't know the world could be this full of great people - everyone still on the east coast, my family in the middle, and now all these new people here. it's fun hanging around other writers too because we're all neurotic and disorganized and desperate for a life of beauty and ideas.

what else? i never get to the beach because it takes 45 minutes by car. there is this great horrible diner in my neighborhood called the House of Pies that i just love to go to despite the food being overpriced AND terrible. i like to drive to Pasadena or anywhere east. my brother lives here too (and is about to go on a second date with a friend of mine, which squeeges me out on so many levels). i eat a lot better, but still can't lose any damned weight. oh and i run.

yeah. i ran a half marathon last weekend. i'm awesome. it's true. it was so great. i mean, it was hard and tiring and miserable the last two miles, but it was all those things in a great way. and the weather was perfect and the course went along the water in Santa Barbara and, most importantly, i DID it. i ran 13.1 miles. hoozah! i also raised 2200 bucks for the leukemia and lymphoma society. and you know what? it all felt great. i like doing something for someone besides me, and i actually like running. and i'm going to do it all again starting in january.

so that's me. i still procrastinate. i still have a LOT of writing to do. but here i am in the city of angeles, happy and busy and living my life. i miss boston in autumn, but i'll visit east soon enough. and in the meantime, i have way too much homework to even think of leaving town.

previous - next