Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


"and I think that I sometimes might have wished
for something more than to be a size six."

3 October 2004 - 1:17pm

wow.

feels just like old times.

in fact, i can here Annie Hall singing it in the background of my mind as i type.

so yeah, i'm the lame loser who moved to LA and stopped writing in her online diary. i'm sorry!

but i don't sit at a job anymore with all of this extra time i SHOULD spend working but would RATHER spend writing on diaryland. now when i sit at a job, well, i do have a job... i tutor student athletes, which is really cool, but there are no computers (or down time for that matter) involved. but what i was about to say was this... when i do sit down to this computer, after i email for way to long, the work i'm supposed to be doing is my work, my writing, and, you know, i actually want to do it.

so anyway, that's my lousy ass excuse for all of the nobody who would even look at this page anymore. i do miss it though.

but i am doing well in Cali. i like it here. the weather is pretty great. there was a hot spell during my second and third week that i HATED but it's gone now, and the weather is just lovely. i like that i can see hills from my window, that there are mountains all around. i like that bouganveillia is blooming in October and that streets are lined with plam trees. i like that, on my drive to school, i pass through exclusively hispanic neighborhoods that have taco stands on the street corners and stores like "Muebleria y Oficina de Viajes" (yes, that IS furniture store and travel agent, and is there really a better combo than that?).

i live in a really nice apartment in a cool neighborhood. there is a grocery store two blocks away and several cute cafes just on the next block. friday night, on my way home from writing at a cafe on Vermont Ave. i found a really good little pizza place, which made me happy b/c i wanted pizza, not sushi, and i thought sushi would be my only fast choice (stupid healthy California people...).

i have great roommates here. one is particularly wonderful (the other is perfectly nice too she's just never here) and we've become pretty good friends already. she's a chef and really likes to read and listen to good music and she speaks French and Spanish just like me. so that's been nice.

school is good too. i really like my two classes. i'm taking intro to screenwriting and a fiction writing workshop. it's just great being in school for something i'm entirely interested in. everyone else is interested in it too, which makes it even better. so far, i also like the people in my program. i've heard rumors about how writing programs can be all competitive and backstabbing, but this one isn't at all. at least in my classes, everyone is very supportive and interested in each other's ideas. it's a good environment.

so yeah, things are going well. i still miss Boston and especially all the people i know there, but i miss it in a 'that's a good place with good people way' and not in a 'i think i made a mistake' way. i do think i made a good decision. i think i needed to come out here and try to become the person i really want to be. it's scary, but it's exciting.

anyway, i'll try to come back and update occasionally. even just for me. it's nice to see the arc that the years on this cyber page can show. i started there, now i'm here, and things just keep happening. life is pretty great that way.

previous - next